I was born on November 22nd 1978 in Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina. My mother Sidika grew up in Sarajevo in a “music” family where all of 5 children were playing an instrument. My grandfather, Avdo Smailovic, was a well known Bosnian composer, so it was obvious that all the children were likely to get involved in music art. My mother came to Slovenia to study music (violin in particular) when she was 18 years old. She met my father Januš and they got married. They went to Sarajevo, get jobs there, than I came up, but than they decided to go back to Slovenia where my mother’s twin sister Vildana stayed after getting married. My brother Damir came to the world 19 months after me.

When I was 3 and Damir was 1 and a half years old, my parrents divorced. My mother tried really hard to raise us all by her self. Family, honesty, respect and education were on the top of the list. We lived in Polje, which is a suburban area of Slovenia’s capital Ljubljana. In elementary school I liked art classes the most. I loved to draw, paint, do things out of clay… It was such a great journey. Back than all my friends gave me a Nickname “RASKO”, a little puzzle from my Polish surname. When I was 4 years old I started to play violin and did it for 8 years. I switched to piano and have finished 5 grades of piano school. At the time I just turned 15 and went to High School. I have lost interest in piano, started to play a guitar and just did what many teenagers do. I was hanging out a lot with my friends, I have played guitar in several bands, went out to disco clubs and similar… Of course I have also finished high school on time.

Jan Rasiewicz - RASKO

In 1998 I applied for compulsory military service. After 7 months when I got back I applied for College of Enterpreneurship. At the same time I had to find a regular job in order to get on my own feet as soon as possible and help my mom breathe a little after dedicating all her life to raise me and my brother. Soon I started to work as a salesman in IT industry and gradually left college. My mom has finaly found a soulmate and got married, so me and my brother lived together alone for about 6-7 years. Afterwards I moved out when I met Andreja, my lovely wife. After two years we got our own appartment, soon got married and got our first child, Kris. At the time I decided that it would be good if I finish my college. Step by step I passed some exams, than wait for some time when I had a lot of work, get back to study, left for some time and so on. In the meantime we got our doughter, Lara. I have finally graduated in May 2013 with high grade (9/10).

After getting our own appartment we soon started rearanging it to suit our taste and needs. And so we also tried to find some paintings to put them on the walls. But we didn’t find any that we would like enough. And so I got an idea: “Why shouldn’t I try to do some art for our home?” And so I went to art supplies store and than it HIT me. When I saw what kind of supplies are available to create, all those canvases, paintbrushes, and those colors, especially colors… I was so exited!! And so it all began. I have painted a few paintings for our home, I gave away a few as gifts and than quite soon I started to sell my paintings and get commission works. As I was investing more and more time in my hobby, things started to get quite serious and our small apartment was not big enough for all of my bigger and bigger paintings. So I finaly rented a nice small studio in beginning of 2013. In 2015 we moved to a bigger place, so I now have a privilege to work from my bigger home-studio. How AWSOME is that?

I sell my work on this website and in my Etsy shop, I market myself throug my social media accounts. I love to experiment with different styles in order to express myself. I am also gladly open to commission requests as I have successfully finished many commission projects, locally and internationally.

My work hangs in private and corporate collections in USA, Canada, Hong Kong and throughout Europe.